The Indianpost

Broome, Western Australia: travel essentials

Qantas (0845 774 7767; www.qantas.com.au) flies daily to Broome via Perth year-round and from Australian state capitals, with flights from London to Perth from £759; also direct from Sydney and Melbourne from June-October. Virgin Blue (0061 7 3295 2296; www.virginblue.com.au) flies daily to Broome from Perth (return flight from £184) and from state capitals.
GETTING AROUND
Broome Taxis (0061 8 9192 5252; www.broometaxis.com.au) runs a regular shuttle service between the airport and hotels and resorts around town and Cable Beach; all the larger resorts, such as Cable Beach Club and Pinctada, provide free airport transfers. Avis, Hertz, Budget, Thrifty and Europ-car are all at Broome Airport.
THE INSIDE TRACK
Cable Beach camel rides: sunrise, late afternoon and sunset (9193 7423; www.redsuncamels.com.au).
Pearl tours: Pearl Luggers’ (9192 0000; www.williecreekpearls.com.au) tour gives an overview of Broome’s pearling history, the Willie Creek Pearl Farm Tour tackles how pearls are created and farmed, while showrooms at both locations have pearls and pearl jewellery for sale.
Kimberley tours: Kimberley Wild Expeditions (9193 7778; www.kimberleywild.com.au); Pinnacle Tours (9417 5555; www.pinnacletours.com.au); Wilderness 4WD Adventures (8132 8238; www.wildernessadventures.com.au); Adventure Wild (0419 904 183; www.adventurewild.com.au).
WHEN TO GO
June to September are the coolest months, with cloudless days of 80-86F (27-30C). But this is high season so book flights and accommodation well ahead; May and October are pleasant, too, and room rates a bit cheaper.
FURTHER INFORMATION
The official website for Tourism Western Australia is www.westernaustralia.com. John Bailey’s The White Divers of Broome (Pan MacMillan Australia) offers a vivid account of the perilous lives of Broome’s pearl divers.
THE BEST HOTELS
The Oaks ££
New hotel/apartment complex in downtown Broome, with restaurant, bar and pool; the one- and two-bed apartments have kitchens (9192 9500; www.oakshotelsresorts.com; doubles from £78).
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa £££
Built by Broome’s revered British patron and benefactor, Lord Alistair McAlpine; two pools, three restaurants, spa and a beachfront cocktail bar perfectly positioned for viewing the sunset (9192 0400; www.cablebeachclub.com; doubles from £195).
Pinctada Cable Beach Resort & Spa £££
Suites and studios, spa, poolside bar and an award-winning restaurant (9193 8388; www.pinctadacablebeach.com.au; doubles from £169).
THE BEST RESTAURANTS
Matso’s Brewery ££
Serves classic fish ’n’ chips, steaks and burgers plus excellent curries; try Matso’s Mango Beer (60 Hamersley Street; 9193 5811; www.matsosbroomebrewery.com.au).
Café Carlotta ££
Wood-fired pizzas, pasta, veal and chicken; unlicensed, so bring your own wine (Jones Place, Dora Street; 9192 7606; www.cafecarlotta.com.au).
Selene Brasserie (Pinctada Cable Beach Resort) £££
Greek and Middle-Eastern influenced menu: angel-hair pasta and calamari, barramundi and gnocchi (9193 8388; www.pinctadacablebeach.com.au).

Comments are closed

Photo Gallery




Log in | Designed by Connect Pacifica